top of page

Do you need qualifications to work in aged care?

Certificate III in Individual Support (Ageing) is considered the baseline standard qualification of the industry in Australia. It consists of both academic training and practical on-the-job experience.

The Australian Government has recognised that aged care workers are dealing with some of the most vulnerable people in our community. As such, budding professionals should undertake specific qualifications if they are going to be productive and active members of the industry. Skills Training provides these qualifications, all with flexible options to suit.

Studying at Skills training

The CHC33015 Certificate III in Individual Support replaces three previous qualifications that were considered old and outdated:

  • Certificate III in Aged Care (CHC30212);

  • Certificate III in Home and Community Care (CHC30312); and

  • Certificate III in Disability (CHC30408).

The new certificate streamlines the courses, allowing students to specialise in one of these three specific areas of personal care. The Certificate III has thirteen total units, seven of which are mandatory and six of which are elective.

The new qualification was officially endorsed by the Department of Education and Training in August 2015 after being proposed by the Community Services and Health Industry Skills Council (CSHISC).

If you enrol into the Certificate III, the seven required courses that you must undertake (no matter which specialisation you pick) include:

  1. CHCCCS015 Provide individualised support;

  2. CHCCCS023 Support independence and well-being;

  3. CHCCOM005 Communicate and work in health or community services;

  4. CHCDIV001 Work with diverse people;

  5. CHCLEG001 Work legally and ethically;

  6. HLTAAP001 Recognise healthy body systems; and

  7. HLTWHS002 Follow safe work practices for direct client care

There are then six elective units, divided into three main groups (ageing, disability and home and community). Whichever electives you select will determine the specialisation that you attain.


  • CHCAGE001 Facilitate the empowerment of older people

  • CHCAGE005 Provide support to people living with dementia

  • CHCCCS011 Meet personal support needs


  • CHCDIS001 Contribute to ongoing skills development using a strengths-based approach

  • CHCDIS002 Follow established person-centred behaviour supports

  • CHCDIS003 Support community participation and social inclusion

  • CHCDIS007 Facilitate the empowerment of people with disability

Home and Community

  • CHCAGE001 Facilitate the empowerment of older people;

  • CHCDIS007 Facilitate the empowerment of people with disabilities

  • CHCCCS011 Meet personal support needs

  • CHCCCS025 Support relationships with carers and families

  • CHCHCS001 Provide home and community support services

At Skills Training, the specialisations we offer include:

  • Ageing;

  • Home and Community; and

  • Ageing, Home and Community.

Note: You can choose to specialise in one of these areas. Have a look at the units we offer on our Certificate III in Individual Support page.

If you would like to specialise in aged care, you’ll need to complete the seven core units. You’ll also need to have ticked off three Ageing electives; and at least one elective from the other group or an alternative elective listed by CSHISC. You must also complete up to two electives related to your work outcome from an endorsed training package.

Following this is the Certificate IV in Ageing Support. While not compulsory to work in the sector, the certificate is tailored towards professionals who would like to advance their skills and become a supervisor or team leader in the industry.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact us. We’re always more than happy to help you find the right career path for your goals.


bottom of page